December 19, 2022 (Jack87 News) – The 2022 Qatar World Cup ended early this morning. Argentina and France presented a wonderful final. BK8 Messi and his teammates finally defeated the defending champion in a penalty shootout and won the Hercules Cup again after 36 years. At the end of the World Cup in Qatar, various awards were also announced. Let us see which players won these awards.

Related Reading: Argentina Defeated France 7-5 to Win the Championship and Grabbed Their Third World Cup in Team History

Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi (Argentina)

In this World Cup, Messi played 7 times, scored 7 goals and contributed 3 assists, ranking second in the scorer list, and tied for first in the assist list with Griezmann and the others. Most importantly, Messi helped his country win the World Cup again after 36 years. This is the second time Messi has won the World Cup Ballon d’Or, the last time was in 2014, but that time eight years ago they lost to Germany in overtime in the finals, while this time Messi finally realized his dream.

Golden Boot: Kylian Mbappe (France)

This cup is not only a duel between Argentina and France, but also a peak contest between Messi and Mbappe. Messi scored twice in the game and helped the team beat France on penalties. Therefore Mbappe won the Golden Boot match. He scored a hat-trick in the game and won the Golden Boot of this cup with 8 goals, becoming the first person after Ronaldo in the 2002 World Cup. The hat-trick in the final also made Mbappe the first player to score 3 goals after Hurst in the 1966 World Cup Bet99. The 23-year-old Mbappe has scored 12 goals in the World Cup so far, became the sixth top scorer in histor.

Best Young Player Award: Enzo Fernandez (Argentina)

The 21-year-old Enzo Fernandez was not the team’s main force in the first round of Argentina’s match, but in the second round against Mexico, the rookie became the team’s main midfielder and beat Mexico 2-0. Enzo Fernandez scored his first World Cup goal and in the finals early this morning, he personally contributed 10 steals, second only to Gattuso in the 2006 World Cup final. It was not easy when he received a yellow card early, but without his defense, Argentina is likely to not survive the penalty shootout.

Golden Glove Award: Damian Martinez (Argentina)

Although he was unable to stop Mbappe with three penalty kicks in the finals, Martinez still conquered other French players with a god-like performance. In addition, if it hadn’t been for the overtime countdown to block Muani’s single-handed shot, Argentina will be lored by France. In addition, facing the Netherlands in the quarter-final penalty shootout, Martinez also played bravely and brought the Argentine team into the next round. This cup is Martinez’s first time participating in the World Cup Boda8, and he has also become the first South American goalkeeper in history to win the World Cup Golden Glove Award.

Related Post